PDA

View Full Version : speculation: how long until ultegra/105 11-speed?

AngryScientist
02-21-2013, 06:19 AM
i tell you, i was darn impressed by that dura-ace 9000 stuff, very nice. However, the cost of entry is high. it's always nice to offset the top tier groups with a lower end cassette here, or RD there.

i electronic ultegra followed electric dura-ace pretty quickly, maybe an 11-sp ultegra is coming soon?

shovelhd
02-21-2013, 06:27 AM
My guess is 12 months to allow 9770 to penetrate the high end of the market before the Ultegra version eats it, but I have no insider knowledge.

oldpotatoe
02-21-2013, 07:20 AM
i tell you, i was darn impressed by that dura-ace 9000 stuff, very nice. However, the cost of entry is high. it's always nice to offset the top tier groups with a lower end cassette here, or RD there.

i electronic ultegra followed electric dura-ace pretty quickly, maybe an 11-sp ultegra is coming soon?

Probably see it at EuroBike in 2013, Interbike and introduction into the market at OE in late fall, early winter. Just guessing..think you'll see electronic XTR as well..11s Ultegra electronic after mechanical, just like DA. Too bad it's going to make all previous(mechanical/electronic/10s) obsolete. There is NO 10s compatibility with 9000 except for brakes and the crank.

vav
02-21-2013, 07:43 AM
The sooner the better. I love my 6700 stuff so I hope prices go even further down with Ultegra 11 introduction.

oldpotatoe
02-21-2013, 07:55 AM
The sooner the better. I love my 6700 stuff so I hope prices go even further down with Ultegra 11 introduction.

No doubt but ala shimano, the 6700 stuff will not be made any longer. As soon as shimano made 7900, they stopped with 7800, same with 6700 and 6600, 6600 and 6500, 7700 and 7800.