PDA

View Full Version : ? for you speed dream owners

Kurt
02-28-2004, 10:31 PM
Hi,

What rims did you get, the vel's, ac's or ?
What color were the white hubs? The only one's I have seen are polished, but his web site (which sucks) say's everything comes in black. What did shipping run, meaning was the total package under $ 600? Got a killer deal on 04' neutrons for $ 670 delivered so both deals are pretty close. I have been riding the old neutrons for 4 months so I know I like them.
+ what is the warranty on the wheels?

Thx

Kurt

slowgoing
02-28-2004, 10:42 PM
Texascyclesport has neutrons for $639 shipped. Don't know if it's the 2004s though.

I bought two sets of speed dreams. Both have velocity rims. One set was all black and used AC hubs before he went to White Industries hubs. The second was all silver and used the polished White Industries hubs. I don't know anything about the black White Industries hubs. Shipping was about $25.,not much. His wheels are great. You should get a pair, you won't regret it. Plus, he's an exceptionally nice guy who knows a lot about wheels.

Jay Torborg
02-28-2004, 11:43 PM
I just bought a pair of SpeedDreams about a month ago. The total was $575 shipped including two extra of each of the three spoke types. They had Velocity AR-20 rims and White Industries hubs. 20 spokes in front/28 rear. Everything is black (rims, spokes, hubs). They ride very nice and seem to spin up well. Slightly lighter than my Campy Euros wheels. Great value for the money.

Needs Help
02-28-2004, 11:57 PM
Great value for the money.

In comparison, what would a set of Open Pros cost to get built up with the same hubs?

Larry
02-29-2004, 03:55 AM
Speeddreams- $575.00 including shipping to Dallas. No skewers, but it does not matter to me. Mine are about 2 months old.

Black Velocity Fusion rims for us heavy riders. It is a little heavier rim to hold-up better over the long haul.
Black Sapim spokes 14-17. I think Campy uses these.