PDA

View Full Version : Fat road tire (32c) suggestions?

Lewis Moon
02-08-2013, 08:23 AM
Being that I'm just a biologist working for a state that hates state workers, I have no money and can only afford one road bike. Thus, I bought a Poprad. Sweet ride and I can run fatter tires, which really helps with the lumpy roads in my neck of the woods. Even though I don't own a CF wunderbike, I still like to ride fast and would love to take some KOMs from the Tri guys in the area. So, I'd like some input on larger section road tires.
I started out on 32c Paselas but they are heavy, feel a bit wooden and not real sticky or sure footed in the corners. I switched down to 28c Rubino Pros, which are a LOT lighter, feel much more planted and sticky, but only run a measured 25mm on my 19mm rims (the Paselas run just over 30mm). They are also noticably more harsh in the lumps, which really goes counter to their more supple feel elsewhere. Must be a volume thing.
I've done some research and there really isn't much out there in a 32c tire. What I've found that might fit my needs are:

a) Conti Gatorskins: Only come in wire bead and takes a major weight penalty and some say they don't roll as well as they could. (~$47 ea)
b) Parigi Roubaix: Everything I read is that these are flats waiting to happen. (~$58 ea)
c) Grand Bois Cyprus: These seem to be the best reviewed of the lot. (~$62 ea)

Any thoughts on this or any other suggestions?

oldpotatoe
02-08-2013, 08:31 AM
Being that I'm just a biologist working for a state that hates state workers, I have no money and can only afford one road bike. Thus, I bought a Poprad. Sweet ride and I can run fatter tires, which really helps with the lumpy roads in my neck of the woods. Even though I don't own a CF wunderbike, I still like to ride fast and would love to take some KOMs from the Tri guys in the area. So, I'd like some input on larger section road tires.