PDA

View Full Version : OT: IT project management from scratch?

phcollard
02-06-2013, 08:02 AM
I know it's way off topic so mods feel free to delete.

Anybody managing projects in the IT world? I'm looking for some advice here : I have been a Java Web developer for the last ten years but I would like to switch to project management. I have zero experience with this except seeing things from the other side of the fence as a programmer.

So I was wandering... Is it realistic to think that I could get a junior PM position by following a few continuing studies courses? I assume that to look credible I should have at least a few certifications like Scrum Master? PMI PMP? Do you think these are valuable enough that I should invest in them? How hard is it to obtain those with zero experience?

Many questions :) And wisdom from the pros would be appreciated!

Cheers,

Philippe.

Pete Mckeon
02-06-2013, 08:21 AM
You need to first get some experience after taking some PM courses. They are still in demand and with your technical background it will also help. If you need any specific info or a discussion, feel free to contact me. Just like with programming or other fields, getting a good foundation on knowledge is always a good beginning, PETE

BumbleBeeDave
02-06-2013, 08:44 AM
. . . so no problem! I hope you get some good advice. This is one of the things this forum is here for--so we can help each other! :)

BBD

roguedog
02-06-2013, 08:55 AM
Phillippe, Pm'd you with a long rambling Pm. Hopefully it made sense.

<tongue in cheek> WHY??? :D <-- this was to make Pete laugh (or any PM)

eddief
02-06-2013, 09:01 AM
If in a company, get with your boss and let em know what your goal is. take some courses so you can speak the lingo and understand the models. then get the boss to give you a chance to get your feet wet by having him or someone who does project management let you take on some PM responsibilities...you kow like a mentoring relationship.

shovelhd
02-06-2013, 09:08 AM