PDA

View Full Version : Turning point.

Lewis Moon
02-04-2013, 08:01 AM
I need some advice. I’ve been riding (again) for about ten months, I’ve lost 45 lbs and last Friday I did 30 miles solo at 20+ mph. However, I’ve basically hit a mental plateau. In my past permutations as a rider, I’ve always ended up racing, but this time around, I don’t know if I want to “go there”. I’m 56 this month; just got a hip replaced seven weeks ago, have a job, family (complete with sullen teenager) and all the issues that go with those situations. I’m also, as my wife the psychologist has succinctly pointed out, a competitive a$$hole. Racing and its physical and mental toll on me, was probably one of major reasons for a previous failed marriage.
I need goals. While I’ll be the first to say that riding is a reward in itself, I also know that having some sort of goal, other than to “get better, faster, yadda” allows me to focus and plan, and gets me off the couch when my butt starts to grow roots. The problem is, I really don’t see much out there that interests me other than racing. The thought of grinding out Century/Gran Fondo rides doesn’t interest me in the least. Besides, in order to adequately prepare, I’d need to ride more than the six or so hours I can put in per week. I live 51 miles from work so I can’t commute. What else is out there?
I also can’t “just race”. If I don’t feel like I’m at least trying to be competitive, why am I even out there? Also, for some reason I absolutely hate crits, which make up about half of the racing calendar and are most closely aligned with the amount of time I can put into training. Really hate them. Nasty, brutish little races they are.