PDA

View Full Version : Saddle too narrow?

TT Tandem
01-23-2013, 05:02 PM
I started riding a Brooks B17N this past fall and now with it on the trainer and I am begining to wonder if it may be too narrow. I tried ,with not too much success, to measure my sit bones this afternoon. I came up with about 130mm. My wife thinks it is 125mm. I understand you are suppose to add 25mm or so to that to determine saddle width. The B17N is listed at 151MM. The B17 at 175mm.
So from the info I am supplying does it seem like maybe it is too narrow? On the B17N the "dimples" that are starting to form seem to be very close to the edge and on top of the metal frame.
Thanks!

Pete Mckeon
01-23-2013, 05:08 PM
the correct one based on size. I do not know how many dealers might still have

I would not lose sleep over it based on size, Saddles are very personal to many independent of the number, Go with the one your backside likes. Adjustment-level&height have lots of influence,

Fishbike
01-23-2013, 05:40 PM
And trainers are not the best way to judge saddle fit. A saddle that is fine on the road felt like a 2 x 4 on the trainer last night. You gotta move around a bit on the trainer. Other than the dimples, how does it feel?

Bruce K
01-23-2013, 05:44 PM
Any Specialized saddle (bike) dealer should have the sit pad

You sit on this pressure sensitive pad for a couple of minutes and the imprint is viewed against a scale to determine saddle width

BK

MattTuck
01-23-2013, 06:12 PM
Any Specialized saddle (bike) dealer should have the sit pad

You sit on this pressure sensitive pad for a couple of minutes and the imprint is viewed against a scale to determine saddle width

BK

While this is true and measurement can point you in the right direction, there is a lot of voodoo that happens between your butt and the saddle. If the saddle is uncomfortable, that's a reason to investigate/solve the causes... but I wouldn't worry too much if it is just based on where the wear is.