PDA

View Full Version : Cannondale CAAD4 vs CAAD10?

kenw
01-12-2013, 01:18 PM
I'm wondering what the extra 6 CAADs will do for me?
I have been riding a CAAD4 for many years, and have just
come across a CAAD10 frameset. Can I expect much improvement
in performance, or just a lightening of my wallet? Thanks.

ultraman6970
01-12-2013, 01:21 PM
With the 10 you get integrated headset? Check out geometry but looks like is the samething.

TAW
01-12-2013, 01:23 PM
I would say that from year to year, there are not any huge improvements in frames. Each year in the bike industry brings some new "improvements." Some are improvements, and some are gimmicks. The genuine improvements, though marginal, stay around, and those marginal differences from year to year eventually add up. All that to say that I think you would notice a difference between the 4 and the 10.

Ralph
01-12-2013, 01:38 PM
As I recall......(I've got a CAAD 5 I ride a lot....same as yours except integrated headset), the 4 had the curved seat stays of the newer frames. Traditional headset....probably a plus (to me anyway). Aluminum steerer.....IMHO a plus, CF fork like the newer ones. Same geometry, etc. I think anything above the 3 is fine. The CAAD 3 was fine also, it was just so stiff....a sprinters frame. I have a friend, about 160 lbs, with at least 50,000 miles on a 54 CM Caad 4, no cracks or age issues anywhere. They were way over built for his weight.

There were, of course, small improvements in rideability as each new model came along. But not sure you would notice it. I do run 700X25's on my CAAD 5 Cannondale, so I think it rides fine.

mike p
01-12-2013, 05:38 PM