PDA

View Full Version : Really warm shoe covers?

FastforaSlowGuy
01-09-2013, 10:12 PM
I live near the Massachusetts/New Hampshire border, so it should come as no surprise that winter riding is a little nippy. I've been using neoprene shoe covers from Descente for the past three years, and they're on their last legs. As I search for new kit, I'm curious if there is better technology out there. Whether hiking, running or biking, my feet are always the first thing to get cold, and I think it's getting worse as I get older. Yes, I've had my shoes fitted to me, and it's been the same whether I wear pairs that fit closer and looser. I think my circulation is a little crummy.

My usual system in cold (sub 40) weather has been to don wool socks, tape a heat pack to the top of my shoes, then slip on the heavy covers. After a few hours today in mid-30s weather, my toes were frozen.

Any thoughts on materials other than neoprene for the truly cold days? I've seen windstopper fabrics, fleece, etc, but I have no experience with them and shoe covers are shockingly expensive so I want to be somewhat confident before I buy.

pdmtong
01-09-2013, 11:03 PM
why not try the mavic shoe covers being blown out on realcyclist for $30 - they have a pouch built in for a heat pak

http://www.realcyclist.com/mavic-thermo-shoe-cover

BTW my brothe moved from her to durham...he suffers in the winter while I BBQ outside in shorts.

Louis
01-10-2013, 12:28 AM
Bite the bullet and get some winter bike shoes. Your feet will thank you.

merlincustom1
01-10-2013, 04:48 AM
Gore Tex Thermo.

ergott
01-10-2013, 04:58 AM
Sidi makes a battery heated foot bed.

BryanE
01-10-2013, 05:12 AM
I finally sprung for these.
Your feet will say thank you if you do.

rnhood
01-10-2013, 05:36 AM
You just need a windstopper fabric and wool sock (which you already use). Boure makes a nice shoe cover (http://www.boure.com/8426.html) and it works well.