PDA

View Full Version : was looking @ loctite's bike, and have a few thoughts why the legend is no race bike

Kurt
10-28-2005, 08:54 PM
First off super impressed if you were a competitive 2 @ 185 and that is one smoking good looking bike – your bike and the ones that serotta uses as pin-up bikes are great examples of balance and good proportion. Nice being young isn’t it.

The frame and fork totals over 4k and unless someone gets a screaming deal on one it does not make any financial sense to race it. In OS tubing at least it makes not only a heavy frame but a heavy feeling frame – looking at the zipps on the frame, unless they are just for looks –they are mostly good for crits and I can’t think of a worse match for explosive launches out of corners than a legend or something like it. In racing there is a ton of side to side motion and that is where a light, nimble frame shines.

I have a 58 3-degree all OS except the ti seat stay legend and it’s the perfect cruising machine, totally comfortable – I do super fast club rides and actually like the lack of road feel as it nicely compliments my other nightmare of a bike. I could not imagine grabbing it verses my optimo for a race or a day in the hills. Any bike that you race is a race bike – the reason you will never see a legend raced in a competitive situation is price and weight. If you or anyone you know of paid retail for the frame and got podium in a cat3 or better race I take back everything I said. ;)

93legendti
10-28-2005, 09:06 PM
So your logic must mean that the Ottrott is also not a race bike?

http://www.kgsncycling.com/equipment.html

Kurt
10-28-2005, 09:17 PM