PDA

View Full Version : Saddle Noise?

TT Tandem
01-02-2013, 12:40 PM
For reference I have a '92 Serotta Colorado ll. It has a Thomson seat post with a Brooks B17N saddle.
I started riding on my trainer this week and I was getting a noise while pedalling. At first I thought it was the pedals.So I switched them out and still had the noise. Then I thought it might be the BB but it disappears when I stand.
I am wondering if it is the saddle? Because the noise disappears when I stand. Or could it be the seat post? I did not notice this sound when I was riding outside.
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

oldpotatoe
01-02-2013, 01:16 PM
For reference I have a '92 Serotta Colorado ll. It has a Thomson seat post with a Brooks B17N saddle.
I started riding on my trainer this week and I was getting a noise while pedalling. At first I thought it was the pedals.So I switched them out and still had the noise. Then I thought it might be the BB but it disappears when I stand.
I am wondering if it is the saddle? Because the noise disappears when I stand. Or could it be the seat post? I did not notice this sound when I was riding outside.
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

Could be cleats as well.

Lube the inside of the seat tube, the cradle of the seat post where the saddle sits..

Dab of oil where the rails are attached to the saddle itself.

eddief
01-02-2013, 01:46 PM
grease or squirt all potential rub spots. been there, done that. maybe even a slight tension bolt tightening.

jr59
01-02-2013, 02:22 PM
It's a brooks saddle and I would lube the nut and bolt @ the nose of it as well

TT Tandem
01-02-2013, 02:22 PM
Hey Guys, Thanks for these ideas!

bikinchris
01-02-2013, 03:20 PM
"Lube the inside of the seat tube"

This. Or maybe your saddle is the culprit. But do ONE THING AT A TIME. To find out what it is if it ever comes back.

Is the noise a squeak or a creek?

TT Tandem
01-02-2013, 03:55 PM
I would say it is a creak.

monkeybanana86
01-02-2013, 08:23 PM