PDA

View Full Version : Mounting Your Computer Sensor On The Chainstay


Peter P.
12-08-2012, 07:18 AM
Does anyone else do this?

I just switched from rollers to a rear wheel trainer and obviously the conventional fork mount sensor won't do any good in its current location. So, I moved it to the chainstay which is still in spec for distance from the computer head.

It works fine, yet I've never heard mention of people doing this, nor do I see any bikes on the road with this setup.

Is this common or do people just leave the sensor on the fork?

cfox
12-08-2012, 07:39 AM
All the time, especially on pro bikes. If you have a combined speed/cadence sensor, that's the only place for it. Also, some big, funny shaped carbon forks don't lend themselves well to mounting a sensor.

thinpin
12-08-2012, 02:58 PM
This is the default Garmin set up using a single unit for cadence and speed. Very tidy.