PDA

View Full Version : Sufficient Rust Removal on Serotta CRL

AndreasM
11-30-2012, 06:49 PM
All -

If I could get some expert eyes on the photo of the stay+dropout connection post rust removal - look a bit grimy before cleaning, but now doesn't seem to be too structural, if at all, just roughed it up a bit.

I'd like to know how complete of removal I achieved here. Good job or keep at it?

Thanks,
Andreas

AndreasM
11-30-2012, 06:54 PM
i'm planning on giving it the clear nail polish treatment afterwards, not leave bare...

Ralph
11-30-2012, 06:57 PM
I still see rust.

http://www.harborfreight.com/1-gallon-evapo-rust-rust-remover-96431.html

I work part time in a shop that restores classic cars....average job usually about $150,000.....and we use a lot of this first....then grind and sand. There are other brands that ndo same thing.

AndreasM
11-30-2012, 06:59 PM
is the rust the tiny bits of green? I got the obvious brown/red crust out. Surprising how little I know about rust when I actually engage with it.

Thanks Ralph for responding

Ralph
11-30-2012, 07:03 PM
I would get it to raw steel...like new metal. Then acid wash it to kill any rust from forming again. Then paint.

esldude
11-30-2012, 07:34 PM
Naval Jelly would work on something that size pretty well.

I have not tried it, but seen pictures and molasses actually works very well. You can buy feed grade molasses pretty cheap. I think it is slow. But Google molasses and rust removal for all the tips on going that route.

http://www.homercidal.com/molasses/ One description of it.

You also could go the electrolysis route.

Peter P.
11-30-2012, 07:46 PM
If you don't see shiny metal, you haven't removed the rust. That doesn't look finished yet.

I'd start with a chemical rust remover like Naval Jelly, then finish with a small wire wheel using a Dremel Tool. Absent the Dremel Tool, progressively finer grades of sandpaper.

vav
11-30-2012, 08:01 PM