PDA

View Full Version : Computrainer Spinscan HELP!

Dekonick
02-25-2004, 02:16 PM
OK - I am new to using a computrainer - but I notice that with the spinscan I have some dead zones if you will. What I am looking for (and have not found anywhere) is pictures of what a 'good' spinscan should look like; both for the bar graph version, and the 'top down' view (looks like an airplane prop when mashing, but I have yet to get it to be a circle) does anyone have some gif's they can email me? or a link to a webiste with some?

my email is serottacsi2000@yahoo.com

any help is appreciated!

Hopefully with the help of the computrainer Ill improve and be better able to hang with the group...

Cheers!:beer:

Mike G.

keno
02-25-2004, 04:23 PM
The most efficient stroke, in spinscan terms, would be to have all of the vertical bars be at the same level for each leg. That would give a 100 spinscan efficiency at 50/50 power output between legs. It would also give an exact circle in the top view, as you call it. That would be the equivalent of an electric motor putting out the same power at each degree of the rotor's circle.

In order to get your efficiency numbers up try focusing more on the upstroke. It requires using the psoas muscle to pull up and over on the upstroke and see more power at the ends of the bar graph, which is where I would expect your output is low. Single leg exercising in 52/12 or a tough gear you can handle will help you to learn to develop that range of your stroke. I think that the PowerCranks and RotoCranks are devices that are demanding that the upstroke be developed. In most riders, including elite riders, the upstroke actually creates a drag against the driving leg.

There is no definitive word on what the ideal spinscan stroke should look like when translated to the real world. A sprinter would certainly have poor numbers as would a masher compared with a spinner. If you are a spinner, higher spinscan numbers are something to be worked for, though.