PDA

View Full Version : Question about replacing spokes on tubular wheelset...

bismo37
09-30-2012, 02:01 PM
Kinda dumb question, but here goes...

I have a 32h tubular wheelset with HED C2 Belgium rims, Record hubs and the biggest, fattest spokes known to mankind. I just glued on Conti Comp 22mm. I bought the wheelset thinking it'd be bombproof.

Can I replace the straight gauge spokes with DT Comps without removing the freshly glued tubies? Okay to use the existing nips? This wheelset is overbuilt for my needs.

The 32h straight gauge spokes are way too rigid. Bumpy roads, I feel like I might get ejected from the saddle. I know I can soften things up with 25 mm tubies and lower pressure but I'd hate to pull new tubies.

Gummee
09-30-2012, 07:13 PM
Short answer: maybe

Longer answer: it'll make things MUCH easier if you take the tire(s) off.

...and on another note: I'm no expert, but I don't think that re-doing the spokes is going to give you what you're looking for. Maybe a titch more cush, but steel spokes are steel spokes.

If you want something that rides softer get some Ambrosio Nemesis rims (or other box-section rims) and ditch the 'aero' profile of the Heds.

First step tho is to reduce air pressure in your tires. That'll give you the biggest bang ride-wise for the smallest buck.

M

Peter P.
09-30-2012, 07:21 PM
I'm with Gummee on this one.

It can be done and likely without a lot of aggravation. If you managed to drip some rim cement into the spoke holes it will hold the nipple in place just enough to thread on a new spoke. If it retracts to deeply into the hole, you'll have to fish it back out by trying to thread on a spoke which isn't inserted into the hub. If you have to, maybe you can tack the nipples in place with some tube patching glue.