PDA

View Full Version : More bike indecision

LegendRider
10-07-2005, 02:00 PM
I hope this thread isn't inappropriate on the Serotta forum. I've owned one and I have lots of respect for the gang at Serotta. However, my new ride is narrowed down to the following. Please help me decide.

This will be my primary rig to be used on group rides, mountain rides, occasional road races and general cruising. I've already got a bike for wet weather and crits.

Options:
- Colnago C-50: I've always wanted one. I know it's expensive, but in 15 years of riding I've never owned a Colnago. Plus, the jerk's endorsement means a lot. Geometry works for me.
- Eddy Merckx MXM: Another brand I've never owned but always wanted. The geometry in my size is great.
- Parlee Z1X - Custom geo available, very pricey however; doesn't have the road racing history of Colnago or Merckx (I'm a big fan of pro racing)
- Parlee Z3 - less expensive but not thrilled with sloping design or wishbone stay for aesthetic reasons.
- Cannondale Six13 - Can get a deal on one, but the headtube is way too short for me. Don't want 4cm on spacers or positive rise stem. A fraction of the cost of the others for a small aesthetic indiscretion...
- CAAD8 - See above.

slowgoing
10-07-2005, 02:47 PM
Get the one that fits.

Sorry, I read that canned response so much it makes me sick.

Haven't ridden any of them so this post is absolutely worthless. Good luck, though, the reviews on all of them sound wonderful.

LegendRider
10-07-2005, 02:53 PM
Get the one that fits.

Sorry, I read that canned response so much it makes me sick.

Haven't ridden any of them so this post is absolutely worthless. Good luck, though, the reviews on all of them sound wonderful.

I know how important fit is and I'm confident I can get the fit I want on any of them.

djg
10-07-2005, 03:11 PM
I gather from your handle that you have a legend and it's a great bike and nobody at Serotta should be hurt by the fact that you're not buying a second one.