PDA

View Full Version : Disc hubs on old mavic gel 280?

tuscanyswe
09-21-2012, 01:50 PM
I have no experience with this rim but i know i like the weight and the look.

Thinking of building up a lightweight tubular disc wheelset within a small budget. Probably novatec hubs.

I know the rim had pretty poor braking performance from what ive read about it but that problem doesent really exist with a disc build.

So am i mad for thinking this could work? Are they far to fragile rims / eyelets?

nbrewste
09-21-2012, 02:01 PM
I don't think that should be an issue.

Front disc wheels will have more tension on the disc side, but they shouldn't need more tension than would be required for a proper rear wheel rim brake build.

Rims don't care if they're front or rear, built with disc or non-disc hubs. They just care about spoke tension...

mjb266
09-21-2012, 02:04 PM
That's a really light rim box section rim for a wheel with dish. I wouldn't do it. The box sections aren't very stiff and that thing is 60% of a typical rim weight. If you want a cool older rim maybe locate a Mach 2 or a Campy V-section rim.

Joachim
09-21-2012, 02:11 PM
GEL 280's were used years ago in 32h and 36h for front racing wheels only. I wouldn't use those on the rear for anything. If you are lighter, maybe GEL330's (32h) in the rear.

Grant McLean
09-21-2012, 02:12 PM
So am i mad for thinking this could work? Are they far to fragile rims / eyelets?

The GEL 280 is a thin and not very stiff rim that is easy to flat-spot from impact,
which is really a different issue than how well they would hold up to the spoke tension.

I don't really get why you'd want a disc wheelset with that kind of rim.

-g

tuscanyswe
09-21-2012, 02:19 PM
The GEL 280 is a thin and not very stiff rim that is easy to flat-spot from impact,
which is really a different issue than how well they would hold up to the spoke tension.

I don't really get why you'd want a disc wheelset with that kind of rim.

-g

Thanks for info guys.