PDA

View Full Version : One of my riding groups had two wrecks in two weeks

dekindy
09-05-2012, 05:28 PM
I have been riding with my Tuesday evening riding group since Summer of 2006. Have seen many riders come and go but always a mature group of riders that were mostly well mannered and any concerns with safety were addressed immediately. As long as there is no ice and snow on the road, this group rides regular road bikes, except for some install fenders, year round and during the Winter this is at night. Except for a major wreck 4 years ago caused by a road kill just over the crest of a hill there have been no incidents.

Last week was a minor incident where a rider with a brand new bike probably stopped quicker than normal to avoid a freshly graveled road and the rider behind ran into her and snapped a derailleur hanger and a cable support. No big deal. This was about 3 miles into the ride.

Last night was a disaster. The ride leader said she observed the rider in front of her and it appeared to her he just fell over for no reason; again it was very early in the ride. She and the rider behind were able to avoid but he fell in front of the adjacent row of riders and took down two riders with him that had no time to react. The first rider behind went down the hardest and has some broken ribs and a probable separated shoulder that may require surgery. The rider behind him has a gash caused by a chain ring that took 24 stitches to close.