PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about a Pugsley or a Mukluk...

93legendti
08-03-2012, 04:30 PM
I love the look of those big tires....any Mukluk riders out there? I know Spidey has a Pug...

maxdog
08-03-2012, 04:46 PM
I have no experience, but I'll be following this thread closely, as I also find them intriguing.

Bruce K
08-03-2012, 05:04 PM
Our LBS is offering Mukluks for demo

No FRNs available - new cross rig on the way - so I won't waste their time

2 guys in our group have them and ride them everywhere. They say that they are a total hoot. Instead of either picking a line or climbing over the old colonial stone walls and similar objects in our New England woods, they just roll right over them

BK

gavingould
08-03-2012, 05:24 PM
i don't have one, but i've ridden them... very very fun in snow/sand/messy stuff.

93legendti
08-03-2012, 05:28 PM
Our LBS is offering Mukluks for demo

No FRNs available - new cross rig on the way - so I won't waste their time

2 guys in our group have them and ride them everywhere. They say that they are a total hoot. Instead of either picking a line or climbing over the old colonial stone walls and similar objects in our New England woods, they just roll right over them

BK

That's what I heard....the monster truck of bikes.

93legendti
08-03-2012, 05:28 PM
i don't have one, but i've ridden them... very very fun in snow/sand/messy stuff.

So it's true, they roll right thru the sloppy stuff?

Bruce K
08-03-2012, 05:40 PM
Oh yeah

Sand, snow, mud, you name it! Those mondo tires just kind of float through the soft stuff

BK

boxerboxer
08-03-2012, 06:07 PM
Also check out the new Salsa Beargrease. Fully built its supposed to be around 28 lbs! That's probably XTR level stuff but still cool.

gavingould
08-03-2012, 07:49 PM
yeah, basically they kinda float over most stuff.

ya know when you've been riding 23mm tires at 100psi all summer, then get on your 'cross bike with 32mm tubulars at 35psi?

kinda like that, but times ten.