norcalbiker
07-23-2012, 04:17 PM
Anyone here use these wheels?

Would love to hear your input.

Thinking of getting a set for my wife.

TIA

gospastic
07-23-2012, 04:21 PM
I've been using a newer pair with the updated rear hub for a few months now. I am very pleased with them.

rice rocket
07-23-2012, 04:23 PM
$1300 for a set of aluminum clinchers, ohhhh how that Zipp/SRAM marketing machine works!

If you want a wide clincher, there's a few options out there for custom builds now.

norcalbiker
07-23-2012, 04:34 PM
I've been using a newer pair with the updated rear hub for a few months now. I am very pleased with them.

Thank you sir!

norcalbiker
07-23-2012, 04:35 PM
$1300 for a set of aluminum clinchers, ohhhh how that Zipp/SRAM marketing machine works!

If you want a wide clincher, there's a few options out there for custom builds now.

Well, I am not paying near that amount. I would not even consider it if that's what I am going to pay.

wooly
07-23-2012, 04:50 PM
I've had the 101's, albeit back in 2011. The hubs were loud but rolled really nicely. the rim has a nice shape too.

I currently have some Hed C2's laced to King r45 campy hubs. They were built by Troy Watson at Fairwheel in AZ. Very nice build and riding wheels.

The Hed's ride lighter and were probably 150 grams lighter than the Zipps which were close to 1600 grams. The Zipps held speed better than the Hed's. I have no idea if that was because of the rim weight, better aero dynamics, ...

If I were to do it all over again, I'd get custom Hed's laced to some nice hubs. They'll be less expensive, more easily repairable in a pinch and in my opinion, look nicer than the Zipps.

justinrchan
07-23-2012, 06:11 PM
I use the 2011 101s and have been pleased with them. You can find lighter wheels out there and probably cheaper too but they have a nice feel to them and would not hesitate to get another set if the price was right.

akelman
07-23-2012, 06:55 PM