PDA

View Full Version : Tubular tire reccomendations?

DerekB
07-14-2012, 12:19 PM
I have been using Zipp Tangentes for two years. I seem to go through rear tires pretty quickly due to flats or even just cuts.
I am looking at Mavic Yksions (50% off at the moment).
Any recommendations about these and other brands?
And while I am here, how about tire pressures? I have been running higher (120-130) pressures lately. Can higher pressures cause flats sooner?
Thanks.

christian
07-14-2012, 12:29 PM
I find Conti Competitions a good every day tire. Butyl tubes, but a nice ride and fairly puncture-free.

Veloflex ride lovely, but you need to top them off every rode obviously.

I ordered a pair of the Mavics. At that price they're worth trying.

oldpotatoe
07-14-2012, 01:39 PM
I have been using Zipp Tangentes for two years. I seem to go through rear tires pretty quickly due to flats or even just cuts.
I am looking at Mavic Yksions (50% off at the moment).
Any recommendations about these and other brands?
And while I am here, how about tire pressures? I have been running higher (120-130) pressures lately. Can higher pressures cause flats sooner?
Thanks.

Conti Sprinters. BTW-NO need to run that kind of PSI inna tubie. Defeats the purpose of tubulars..suppleness.

reggiebaseball
07-14-2012, 01:41 PM
It depends on your road conditions.
IF you are currently suffering lots of cuts, or ride in wet conditions (where I find little gravel bits really go after my tires), I am really fond of Vittoria Paves. I run them 92psi front 95psi rear.

They are really really durable in my experience.

If you dont mind a little more fragile, I hear Veloflex are the most supple rolling tires.

If you are already getting too many cuts, I would stay away from the uber-supple cotton casing FMB type tires.

ultraman6970
07-14-2012, 02:28 PM