PDA

View Full Version : Tubular tire recommendations

FlashUNC
06-14-2012, 10:33 AM
So I'm building up my first pair of tubular wheels after two solid decades of clincher-dom, and taking the plunge as a secondary wheel set, just to see if I like 'em.

Anyone have any recommendations on their preferred tires?

Any that you happen to know Lance, US Postal, or Johan Bruyneel preferred? (Just to keep this marginally on topic with the buzz of the last few days.)

firerescuefin
06-14-2012, 10:36 AM
Conti Sprinters are good overall tire at a very good pricepoint

Vittoria Evo Corsas and Conti Competitions are really good tires, but you're going to have to step up some with your checkbook...but you can feel the difference IMO.

I have no experience with some of the super high end stuff beyond that.

Joachim
06-14-2012, 10:40 AM
Any that you happen to know Lance, US Postal, or Johan Bruyneel preferred? (Just to keep this marginally on topic with the buzz of the last few days.)

Hutchinson tubulars (might be rebranded Veloflex carbons, but don't hold me to that)

There is a new high-end Panaracer tubular out that I would really like to try, but can't find them at the usual outlets. They are on the Panaracer website. My everyday tubular is Conti Sprinter. I really like the ride of Veloflex Carbons, but they wear much quicker. I think a good compromise between high-end ride quality and wear is the Conti Competition.

BCS
06-14-2012, 10:44 AM
Dont buy crap or you will ask yourself "why did i bother with tubulars?"

Forget those 3 for 50$ tires.

I have yet to ride on my spare Conti Sprinter.

I like vittoria pave'.

Just ordered a pair of veloflex arenbergs that will go on a wheelset built by old potatoe

oldpotatoe
06-14-2012, 10:49 AM
So I'm building up my first pair of tubular wheels after two solid decades of clincher-dom, and taking the plunge as a secondary wheel set, just to see if I like 'em.

Anyone have any recommendations on their preferred tires?