PDA

View Full Version : How much tire?

Thumby
06-05-2012, 05:49 PM
Hi folks, first time poster here. I do the vast majority of my road rides on 28's. I'm new to all things Serotta, and thinking about one for my next bike. Are they friendly to 28's through the model lines? My current road bikes are a Riv Road and a pair of Ritcheys (OK that sounds like braggin' :banana:) and I'd be curious if anyone had some insights to share as to what I'd notice about the Serottas on my first ride. Cheers!
JP

echelon_john
06-05-2012, 06:12 PM
You'll notice the handlebars are way higher than the seat! :banana:

Just kidding. Welcome to the asylum. Serottas have been full custom for a while, so if you're talking used, tire clearance will depend on original specs. If you're going new, it's certainly something they can build in for you.

dave thompson
06-05-2012, 06:47 PM
On the Serottas that I've had the fork has been the limiting factor, depending of course which fork is installed. *Most* of the forks will handle *most* 25s easily, the late Serotta and Edge/Enve forks will fit a 28. *Most* Serottas will fit 25s between the chainstays and some will fit a 28, but you won't know until you try. One of the limiting factors regarding fitting a 28 on the rear will be clearance between the tire and brake.

Thumby
06-05-2012, 07:40 PM
I do like my bars high, so I've taken note of the long enough head tubes for sure! I'll feel like I'm "settling" though if a maximum 25er is what I end up with. It will be used though, so I can't be too choosy. I'll be on the used market, new is out of my range these days. Thanks for the input, glad to hear more!

rwsaunders
06-05-2012, 07:43 PM
25mm Conti 4Seasons on my F1 fork...with minimal room to grow.

djg
06-05-2012, 07:53 PM