PDA

View Full Version : barcons or brifters

flydhest
06-05-2012, 08:14 AM
So, I just got a SOMA 'cross frame that I am going to build up. (Note, for those of you who know me and know the esoteric and arcane details of what I do for a living, you may get a chuckle from the pun.) I will use it primarily as a fendered bike for commuting, trail riding, pulling my daughter in the Burley trailer, some early season training when my team goes to the mountains of West Virginia (I'm building it with a compact), and I may well do a couple of 'cross races this fall.

I have never had barcons. I raced DT shifters when I started racing. Have had brifters since 2000 or so.

What are folks' thoughts?

93legendti
06-05-2012, 08:21 AM
I have Bar Cons on my Bike Friday Pocket Rocket Pro. I like them a lot. Cheap, easy to repair, friction option, low key...I considered putting them on my fendered Salsa Casseroll, but opted for Kelly Take Offs, which are a similar concept.

Why not?

bobswire
06-05-2012, 08:31 AM
Barcons for your intended use is ideal.
Just finished this one up yesterday,10 speed DA barcons.

http://i49.tinypic.com/29g1nw1.jpg

10 speed vintage SunTour.

http://i47.tinypic.com/23if8z9.jpg

zap
06-05-2012, 09:16 AM
meh.

aero bars only and then it would have to be skinny carbon.

barcons are akin to hybrids with bar ends reaching skyward.

handsomerob
06-05-2012, 10:09 AM
I just built up a Soma Saga with DT shifters and as much as I want to like them, I miss having integrated shifting. It isn't as big a deal riding by myself but integrated shifting makes group riding more comfortable. I will probably convert it as soon as I figure out my solution for running Campy with a 135mm rear dropout.

fiamme red
06-05-2012, 10:20 AM
meh.

aero bars only and then it would have to be skinny carbon.

barcons are akin to hybrids with bar ends reaching skyward.Tell that to Rik Van Looy. :rolleyes: