PDA

View Full Version : Ritchey Evocurve vs Curve Handlebars

Keith A
05-04-2012, 04:18 PM
With the recent discussion on compact handlebars, I started looking around at the various offerings out there. I've been using two brands of short and shallow bars for many years...Deda Newtwon/215 and Ritchey Classic. However, now that I've taken some brief rides with bars that provide a flatter transition to the hoods, I'd like to give these a try.

I've looked at a number of products and would like to find out more about Ritchey's Evocurve and Curve. Does anyone have experience with either or both of these bars? If so, could you explain the difference in feel between the two?

Thanks in advance.

Ritchey Evocurve
http://www.ritcheylogic.com/dyn_prodfamily.php?k=358516

http://www.ritcheylogic.com/dimg/thm/t448_c6eb488c48fcbd8eef888c0ff76744a5.jpg

Ritchey Curve
http://www.ritcheylogic.com/dyn_prodfamily.php?k=341883

http://www.ritcheylogic.com/dimg/thm/t448_a3351958d4e014d617472a694023f46f.jpg

Grant McLean
05-04-2012, 04:25 PM
I've looked at a number of products and would like to find out more about Ritchey's Evocurve and Curve. ... could you explain the difference in feel between the two?

The difference is in the tops. The evocurve sweeps back and is also not a
round cross-section, it's flatish across either side of the stem.
This angle shows it pretty clearly:

-g

pdmtong
05-04-2012, 04:30 PM
keith, the difference is the evo curve tops/flats are ovalized whilce the regular curve top/flats is round.

I have multiple sets of evolution/evo bars and really like the non-round feelign when riding on the tops. thereis more to grab, and the bar fits my hand better. the evo ovalization does not have a distinct trailing edge like for instance the fsa k-wing, so there is nothing on the rear "edge" digging into your palm as you grab the bar.