PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Building Question(s)

yummygooey
05-04-2012, 09:07 AM
I started building my second wheelset yesterday. They're 20/24h Velocity A23's to DT Swiss 240's with Sapim Lasers and brass Sapim Polyax nipples. I'm no expert wheel builder... I'm building them more as an experiment and learning experience than anything else. I ran into a couple issues that I was hoping I could get some advice on.

1. Spoke wind up. I noticed the Lasers were winding up quite a bit. I stress relieved the spokes a few times throughout the tensioning process. Should I still be worried about compromising the strength of the spokes due to wind up?

2. I tensioned all the spokes to about 100kgf using a Park Tools tension meter. As I was trying to get a decent sized vertical hop out of the rim, I stripped (at least) two nipples. The nipples are not only rounded at the edge, but the hole that the spoke goes into is ovalized as well. Is this ok, or should I replace the nipples asap?

I used grease on the spoke threads, but forgot to put grease between the nipples and the rims (I did this last time I built a set of wheels too... doh!). Last time I built 32h track wheels and everything went really smoothly... but this time I've been running into a bunch of issues.

Hopefully I can get things sorted out... I'm not too concerned about having a perfect wheelset, but I hope to learn a bit more about wheel building and have a pretty sweet setup by the end of it.

ergott
05-04-2012, 09:26 AM
Before the wheel has any tension I mark each spoke with a Sharpie so I can so when I've taken out all of the windup from the spokes.

Grease between the spoke/nipple pretty much a must.

You probably are using a 3 sided spoke wrench. Use one like this.
http://www.parktool.com/product/four-sided-spoke-wrench-sw-40

Pretty much all you need to know here.

http://miketechinfo.com/new-tech-wheels-tires.htm#Wheelbuilding

echelon_john
05-04-2012, 09:29 AM