PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my headset?

2wheelwill
04-27-2012, 12:46 AM
I recently bought a Wilier carbon frame with an integrated headset from a fellow forum member. I got it all built up last night and noticed I couldn't tighten down the top stem bolt without seizing the headset (hard to steer bars). I took the fork out and noticed the fork crown race doesn't sit right with the bottom bearing. It's a Ritchey headset.

So is it safe to assume this crown race came from a different headset? Are fork crown races standardized to sit correctly with any headset bearings?

Clearly I'm an integrated headset rookie. I'm tempted to just drop the bike off at my LBS to have a new headset installed but afraid i'll end up spending more than i really need to.

Any advice would be much appreciated. :help:

Will-

Louis
04-27-2012, 12:56 AM
I took the fork out and noticed the fork crown race doesn't sit right with the bottom bearing. It's a Ritchey headset

Some pictures might help diagnose the problem.

rustychisel
04-27-2012, 01:06 AM
Some pictures might help diagnose the problem.

what he said.

but, fork crown race seated correctly? Bearings in correctly and right side down? All parts correctly sent with the frame and forks, including thrust washer (split wedge shaped object)?

I bit of googling will find you an exploded view of the Ritchie headset of your flavour

ultraman6970
04-27-2012, 07:16 AM
I think the problem could be :

You have the wrong headset in there... with integrated headsets you have 2 mayor standards, campagnolo and cane creek (SI i believe is called), the bearings in both systems are 1 1/8, the outside angle is the same but the internal angle (the one that makes contact with the crown race and the upper ring) are different, add that a larger height of the campagnolo bearing.