PDA

View Full Version : OT-Trading Up:Curse or Blessing?

Ken Robb
04-24-2012, 11:56 AM
Many years ago (1970) I had a pal who was older/more worldly and well-traveled than I. He was publisher of Motor Trend magazine and I was an entry-level corporate salesman.

As a good house guest I would bring wine to share. We all enjoyed it but he somewhat wistfully remarked that he wished I hadn't done so. It seems that he had always enjoyed Safeway brand wine that he bought in gallon jugs for $2.79 but now that I had introduced him to cork-finished California reds that cost $4 he was spoiled and couldn't enjoy his old standards any more.

Some would say I expanded his horizons to ever-better wines but he was enjoying his wine before I skewed his palate.

Here's some bike content: If a cyclist is enjoying riding a decent middle-level bike are we doing him a favor suggesting he try a top-of-the-line Whiz-Bang World Champion Special? If he thinks his Shimano 105 works fine should we plant seeds of doubt/discontent by suggesting he's missing a lot of fun not having Dura Ace?

This should give you guys something to think about when it's not decent riding weather. :)

AngryScientist
04-24-2012, 12:02 PM
for me, the answer is to pick my battles.

i have several hobbies, and i simply cant afford to have the top of the line stuff for all of them.

for example, i like cycling and i like coffee. i know full well that with the $ i just put into a new carbon bike, i sure could have gotten myself a very nice coffee machine upgrade, but you cant do it all. in the end, i probably enjoy my coffee made with my modest set-up as much as i would the multi thousand set-up.

tuxbailey
04-24-2012, 12:13 PM
Not a curse.

If you have the means to do it, enjoy it :)

MattTuck
04-24-2012, 12:30 PM
Word. It is a slippery slope. You can be an aficionado about virtually everything in your life, from the coffee you drink (as noted above) to the pen and paper you use to write, to the food you eat and more.