PDA

View Full Version : Trigger Finger (flexor tendon)

Tony T
03-28-2012, 05:45 PM
I developed Trigger Finger (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trigger_finger) from riding late last year.

Any suggestions on alleviating the condition (gloves, hand positions, etc)

Thanks,
Tont

Dave
03-28-2012, 05:50 PM
You need medical attention to resolve that problem. Most likely surgery. I've had a trigger finger for over 15 years and just put up with it. It's never a problem when riding because mine requires a tight closer of the finger before it locks into place.

Mike748
03-28-2012, 06:53 PM
I had surgery for a cyst on my right middle flexor tendon. Recovery took longer than I expected and it still hurts some 4 months later. Not sure I would do it again.

bargainguy
03-28-2012, 07:55 PM
FWIW, I used to work in the medical field and saw a kajillion trigger finger release surgeries. It's one of the most uncomplicated surgeries you can get. Sometimes the tendon sheath constriction is so slight, the release can be done with the tip of a needle instead of a scalpel.

I know a lot of people choose to live with it, but not having full extension of a finger can get pretty old. Steroid injection is an inbetween step which works to lessen the swelling at the site of constriction, but is not always effective.

Whatever you decide, good luck, and heal soon.

Don

Tony T
03-29-2012, 07:47 AM
Thanks guys. Don't think I'll get the surgery now as mine is like Daves (requires a tight close before it locking into place). Also, I have no pain, and this year, I've been riding with a looser grip with the 'trigger finger' (and I'm now using gloves), and this has helped a bit as I no longer have any inflammation.

But, at some point in the future, looks like I'll need to re-consider surgery.

Tony

victoryfactory
03-29-2012, 08:01 AM
I joined the trigger finger club about 6 months ago. (Dad had it too)
Pinky is now getting painful, hard to grip a pencil.