PDA

View Full Version : Drilling/tapping threads: advice requested

keevon
03-28-2012, 09:32 AM
I'm interested in drilling and tapping a hole in a solid 8mm diameter aluminum rod for a 4mm bolt. Since I've never done this before, I have a few questions:

1) What size pilot hole should I drill?
2) What type of tap should I use?
3) How do I determine thread pitch?
4) Can this be accomplished with a hand drill, or do I need a drill press?

Thanks in advance, and pardon my ignorance!

Mikej
03-28-2012, 09:44 AM
I'm interested in drilling and tapping a hole in a solid 8mm diameter aluminum rod for a 4mm bolt. Since I've never done this before, I have a few questions:

By 4mm bolt do you mean the actual outside diameter (o.d.) or is that the size of the allen head tool? Drill press, for sure, especially of it is under force or on a critical component. Offsetting could compromise the integrity. Thread pitch is best matched by bringing bolt to place where you buy the tap. Metric may be a bit more difficult to find in the Big Box stores, so consider an auto parts store if HD doesn't have it.

Jaq
03-28-2012, 10:03 AM
I'm interested in drilling and tapping a hole in a solid 8mm diameter aluminum rod for a 4mm bolt.

http://www.wikihow.com/Use-a-Tap

http://www.efunda.com/designstandards/screws/screwm_coarse.cfm

4 mm machine screws are pretty much only coarse (.7 pitch) thread, so pitch selection shouldn't be an issue.

You could do it with a hand-drill, but a drill press is better & more precise. If you use a hand-drill, make sure you use a punch to start a tiny pilot hole so that the drill-bit doesn't skip across the surface. Drilling into the side of a round rod is especially difficult.

keevon
03-28-2012, 10:08 AM
The bolt uses a 4mm allen wrench. I'll have to verify the thread diameter... oops!

It's for an adjustable-height rear rack: Axiom Journey adjustable (http://www.axiomgear.com/img/prod/journey-adjustable-2429-2.jpg)

JLP
03-28-2012, 02:39 PM
never mind...

Dave