PDA

View Full Version : OT: Legal counsel options for low income family

Keith A
03-26-2012, 01:04 PM
I have a friend who's husband recently asked her for a divorce. They have two children and she has a small income. She has no living family members to assist her -- and her husband is already trying to force his terms of the divorce upon her. He makes significantly more (3x) what she does and has wealthy parents to back him too. He has threatened to "bury her with legal fees" if she opposes him. She is lost and scared and doesn't know what to do.

I have zero experience with the legal system, but my first thought was that she has to get some legal counsel ASAP. The problem is that she doesn't have the money to hire someone. So what are her options? Are there any firms or organizations that provide legal counsel for low-income families?

I would really appreciate any input you guys/gals might have.

AngryScientist
03-26-2012, 01:19 PM
I have no professional advice on the matter, but sincerely hope it works out for your friend. tough situation, and she is lucky to have you as a friend, i think your inclination is dead on.

EDS
03-26-2012, 01:26 PM
She should spend some time on-line educating herself as to the laws in her jurisdiction. She should try contacting the state/city bar association as they may be able to provide information on (a) divorce attorneys in her areas and/or (b) pro bono programs which she may qualify for.

Tell her not to sign anything, whatever she does. If there has been infidelity or other foul play involved, then that complicates things - though would give her ammunition for a more favorable settlement if it was the husband that did the bad deeds.

SamIAm
03-26-2012, 01:33 PM