PDA

View Full Version : Pedal Selection

FixedNotBroken
03-14-2012, 08:49 PM
I have seem some pedal threads awhile back but I couldn't find them in the search bar. I use to have the SPD-SL's but it seemed with the lower degree of float, my knees seemed to ache for some reason. After I used those for awhile I moved on to the Speedplay Zero's Stainless pedals and my knee aches went away and didn't seem as prevalent or constant. I have heard great things about the Keo Blades and the Time pedals. The only thing about the Speedplay pedals are the cleats. Do you get as much of a surface area to push onto compared to the SPD-SL's/Keo's/etc..?

dekindy
03-15-2012, 06:44 AM
The arguement that I have seen is that the cleat is the contact area and is comparable to SPD-SL contact area; but I have no personal experience just what I read, you will have to decide if it makes sense.

Elefantino
03-15-2012, 06:52 AM
If one pedal works, why switch?

Of course, the same logic could be applied to bikes themselves, and that logic usually derives from spousal third-degree, and there is no good way to answer that, so never mind.

fourflys
03-15-2012, 07:55 AM
I have used both and went back to SPD-SL's... The contact area was Ok with the Speedplays, I just didn't care for the entry method (probably would've gotten used to) and they seemed a bit too high maintenance for me having to always worry about getting stuff in the cleats...

did the regular float SPD-SL cleats bother your knees?

FixedNotBroken
03-15-2012, 10:10 AM
You know, I'm not sure what was bothering them. It was when I first started cycling that they did so i'm wondering if it was just a lack of miles? Is the float the same on the Keo Blades?

1centaur
03-15-2012, 10:51 AM