03-10-2012, 04:18 PM
how many do you speak ?
i am terrible in english
i will get killed if i speak spanish
and my japanese is hopeless
cheers :beer:

Orrery
03-10-2012, 04:47 PM
I took Latin through high school and a semester of Anglo-Saxon in college.

I'm thoroughly useless.

saab2000
03-10-2012, 04:51 PM
English
German (or more specifically Swiss-German)
French but it is pretty rusty nowadays.

rbtmcardle
03-10-2012, 04:54 PM
English
Once knew a fair bit of Italian

Have many friends / business associates in Italy / Spain who speak four or five languages.. one even 7.. I have been traveling to Europe for 18 years for business and always (still) feel ignorant, it seems we Americans seem to expect all others to speak English..

cuwinbs
03-10-2012, 04:56 PM
i speak english and some day i hope to speak japanese

Bruce K
03-10-2012, 05:02 PM
english
a moderate amount of german
enough spanish to get by with the kids in my class (please sit down, please be wuiet, pull up your pants, etc.)

I used to speak some hebrew

A few words of russian and a few words of chinese (taiwan version)

BK

Viper
03-10-2012, 05:10 PM
We speak through more than just words. The most powerful form of language are symbols. Look at the Egyptians, they knew as their symbols still remain embedded in the sands of time. Cavemen and perhaps even more cavewomen did so. Symbols...in Spain if the waiter points at your dinner, just give him/her the thumb's-up sign. Nature does not know words...we speak in sounds and colors and math, universally, Raybans required:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYCBgSRNjk0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7-y8LC50r8&feature=related

Japanese get love:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAMgWL0nLpA&feature=related

:beer:

AngryScientist
03-10-2012, 05:14 PM
my wife and i have committed to buying the French version of Rosetta Stone and working on it when the little guy goes to bed at night for a little while per night. hope to be able to be passable at French by next year.