PDA

View Full Version : OT auto warranty after an accident

rwsaunders
03-09-2012, 04:52 PM
Mrs. RW was t-boned yesterday after a woman ran a light, claiming that her cat jumped on her head and distracted her...no **it, it's in the accident report. Our van is one year old and it had to be towed...air bags deployed, wheels were pushed inward and she has a bruised wrist...a real mess.

Of course the insurance company doesn't want to total it but I asked if Honda will honor the factory warranty after such an extensive repair, as Honda is not doing the work. They don't have an answer that makes me warm and fuzzy.

Any experience out there?

mike p
03-09-2012, 05:57 PM
I'm no expert by any stretch but first off anyone who does the work should put the van back to " as new cond " and Honda should still warrantee though they may wish to inspect work? If at all possible I'd have a Honda dearler do the work then Honda would have no excuse not to honor the warrantee.

Mike

dekindy
03-09-2012, 06:07 PM
When my Toyota was hit the other driver's insurance company tried their song and dance about getting three estimates, etc. I told them that I was taking to the Toyota Dealer's Body Shop and sending them the bill. That was it. Never thought to ask about warranty though. The car was only 7 weeks old. Food for thought if it happens again. It was repaired with genuine Toyota parts so hopefully that would have taken care of it.

AngryScientist
03-09-2012, 06:27 PM
generally speaking, the insurance company is going to want to guarantee the repairs performed to make the car whole again for the life of the car (probably), and Honda should still provide warranty coverage for those items not replaced/affected by the repair work.

as you'd guess, this will leave a lot of grey, in between area, and a lot to prove if something goes wrong a few years down the line. this will be bad news for you. trust me on this one.

you're going to want to push hard to have one of the following done: