PDA

View Full Version : SS CX Frame Recommendations

Kylide
03-07-2012, 12:58 PM
I am looking to get started in cyclocross this year but I don't really know very much about CX frames. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions on a good entry-level singlespeed frameset I could get started on this year. I have been eyeballing the Natureboy but have read a lot of mixed reviews with the general consensus being that the frame is extremely heavy but very functional. So if anyone has any advice or frames to recommend I would greatly appreciate it.

carlineng
03-07-2012, 02:42 PM
I'm kind of in the same boat. Want to get into CX, might be interested in single speed, but not sure since I've never done it before. I'm leaning towards getting a geared CX frame. It doesn't look too complicated to create a single speed conversion, and if I decide single speed isn't for me, I'll have the option to go geared pretty easily.

If you're really set on SSCX frames, I was briefly considering the Felt Breed, Bianchi San Jose, Raleigh Furley, and Kona Major One.

jpw
03-07-2012, 03:23 PM
My recommendation is don't.

Vinci
03-07-2012, 03:24 PM
Depending on how racy you want to get, you could go with a Surly Crosscheck and be able to run it geared OR singlespeed, since it has horizontal rear dropouts.

You can do the same with a cheap-o Origin8 CX700, but it's pretty heavy. It does support disc brakes, though, if you're into that.

spacemen3
03-07-2012, 04:03 PM
I like my Nature Boy. If weights a concern, you might still be able to find a Nature Boy Zona. Anyhow, I still prefer having gears on a cyclocross bike.

RacerJRP
03-07-2012, 04:35 PM
I am planning to build up a Nature Boy as a commuter for work and school. Very nice bike for the $. If you need something lighter go with an aluminum frameset obviously. Kona, Felt, Masi etc.

rkalams
03-07-2012, 09:41 PM