PDA

View Full Version : Koala Bike Store

binxnyrwarrsoul
02-15-2012, 11:28 AM
Anyone ever deal with Koala Bike Store, koalastoreonline.com, in the UK? They have something, a complete hardtail I want, very cheap, and cannot find anywhere else.

Positivethinker
02-17-2012, 04:01 PM
I'm an Information Security Manager for the company I work for, and I can absolutely tell you that the Koala Bike Store is a scam. Like you I visited this store in the hopes of scoring a great deal on a bike, but there were too many signs of the the obvious that this was a false front. I've posted my experience on my blog:
http://positivethinker.blogspot.com/2012_02_01_archive.html

bargainguy
02-17-2012, 04:31 PM
Well done, binx! And to think they're trying to exploit a fuzzy creature name to scam people. Not so warm and fuzzy now.

Don

AngryScientist
02-17-2012, 04:38 PM
I'm an Information Security Manager for the company I work for, and I can absolutely tell you that the Koala Bike Store is a scam.

Clue #1: The site overall is very elementary
Clue #2: There are absolutely zero reviews
Clue #3: They list the wrong MSRPs on the bikes
Clue #4: ***The prices they list are simply TOO good to be true***
Clue #5: The domain was only registered less than a month ago (2/1/2012)
Clue #6: Google the address they list and you'll see a residential area.
Clue #7: Nominal number of links when Googled--almost all point you back to their web pages; no related pages on the site
Clue #8: In taking one for the team--on the off chance that it might be legit, I completed an order. Although it DOES appear to use SSL, the domains change on you and no matter what you select you get an error. I subsequently received an e-mail from the proprietor, "Charles Sikes," who states: