PDA

View Full Version : H+Son TB14 rims

Dromen
02-13-2012, 10:44 PM
Anyone have an opinion on H+son and/or their TB14 23mm rims? Bluish/Gray anodized look interesting.

christian
02-14-2012, 05:54 AM
Lots of info across the hall. Summary is much heavier than A23, lower quality. So while they look good, they're not a great rim.

Dromen
02-14-2012, 06:54 AM
I am fairly new here..."Across the Hall" ??

So your rec would be A23 or C2 Belguim? Do you have an opinion of these?

echelon_john
02-14-2012, 07:11 AM
hey there,
do a quick search on a23 or c2, or use the search term 'wide rims'; lots of good info about these.

cheers,
john

christian
02-14-2012, 07:14 AM
Across the hall (velocipedesalon.com) discussion on tb14s:

http://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f2/h-son-tb14-rims-available-yet-experiences-20318.html

A23s and C2s both get good reviews. C2s no longer available in 20h, but at 163lbs, I'd probably build up either as 24/28 regardless.

I have no first-hand experience, but I'm thinking about lacing up a set of 7700 hubs with A23s.

Dromen
02-14-2012, 07:20 AM
im 185 these days and seems like all the time. bout 6/7 on the aggressive scale with 260 threshold. Recommend a hole count for this fatboy?

echelon_john
02-14-2012, 07:23 AM
for everyday wheels, i'd put you on 28/28 on a23 or c2. i'd go a23 to save money and cut 50g/rim, and do brass nipples for long term durability.

cheers,
jc

christian
02-14-2012, 07:26 AM
Yeah, I agree with John, 28/28 or, perhaps ideally, 28/32, if you can find hubs in that drilling. Always brass nips.

oldpotatoe
02-14-2012, 07:40 AM
I am fairly new here..."Across the Hall" ??

So your rec would be A23 or C2 Belguim? Do you have an opinion of these?