PDA

View Full Version : Buffalo River, Arkansas

d_man16
02-11-2012, 11:49 AM
It's time to plan a trip. We were thinking a week long canoe trip.

We've been mulling over the Buffalo river, has anybody made this run before?

I'm pretty confident in a canoe and my partner is a bit of a novice but she's a quick learner and in pretty good shape any advice experience with this trip?

We were thinking first week of March?

thanks,

~D

LouDeeter
02-11-2012, 12:04 PM
Should be a good time of the year. They have had rain, so the river should be running well. It has been awhile since I was on the Buffalo, but my wife is from nearby and I have watched the activity there many years. The water will still be cold in March. You can fish too, but make sure you have the license and understand the rules. I would watch the weather forecasts very closely, particularly if you plan to camp at the camp grounds along the route.

michael white
02-11-2012, 12:15 PM
in 1974, the day after I graduated from highschool a friend and I took an old Grumman down the Buffalo when it was 6 ft over flood stage. Not a good idea. Wrapped the canoe around a tree and hiked out with nothing but a bottle of Southern Comfort. No shoes. Good thing some hillbillies picked us up and traded a full gallon of rotgut moonshine for what was left of our SC. After that we headed out west for a few months and I was in the navy by Christmas.

trophyoftexas
02-11-2012, 12:48 PM
....nuf said.

jmeloy
02-11-2012, 04:44 PM
Beautiful country, great river, good fishing, nice people. More mandolin than banjo.

It's time to plan a trip. We were thinking a week long canoe trip.

We've been mulling over the Buffalo river, has anybody made this run before?

I'm pretty confident in a canoe and my partner is a bit of a novice but she's a quick learner and in pretty good shape any advice experience with this trip?

We were thinking first week of March?

thanks,

~D

cat6
02-11-2012, 05:12 PM