PDA

View Full Version : how best to protect bike/s from thieves

geoffkaplan
01-31-2012, 03:24 PM
i'm pretty new to the world of cycling and am looking for advice on how best to protect my bike (soon to be 2 ... hurry up ben). here in the bay area there seems to be a rash of missing bikes -- weekly reports of stolen high-end bikes out of garages and apartments.

aside from locking up your bikes indoors and common-sense security, how do you protect your bikes? any thoughts on purchasing an insurance rider?

thanks in advance, geoff

MattTuck
01-31-2012, 03:29 PM
Well, an insurance rider is insurance, and will not 'protect' the bike itself. So, if your concern mostly monetary in nature, insurance would be a way to go. Another way to go, if the bike is custom/irreplacable, make sure your apartment or wherever you store your bike is well secured and the bike is locked.

Unfortunately, a determined thief (given enough alone time) can probably get through most any security.

So that brings me to the real way to keep your bike safe, don't let any other people know where you keep it, or know that it is valuable. Don't draw attention to your bike, and you should be ok. I could easily win most races, I choose not to race, so as to keep my bike safe from prying eyes ;)

Jaq
01-31-2012, 03:33 PM
If someone really, really wants it....

I never leave my roadbike; if I can't take it into the shop (or find someone I trust to watch it), I don't go.

For short trips to the bagel shop or the gym, I ride the beater, an old Trek 800. Depending on the errand, I might just lean it against the shop window (or put it in the bike stand on the street if there is one). Otherwise, I use a cable lock, pull the front tire and run the cable through the stays, both tires, and the seat rails, locking it to whatever (trees, bike-stands, etc.)

Fishbike
01-31-2012, 03:38 PM
Hi and welcome!