PDA

View Full Version : Why do you Rando

firerescuefin
01-30-2012, 11:14 PM
I don't...really ignorant regarding the cuture...but see it's a large subculture on this site as well as in general.

How did you get into it...and what appeals to you/keeps you coming back

firerescuefin
01-31-2012, 11:07 AM
Apparently no one "Randos" or they're all out "Randoing" :rolleyes:

cricket....cricket....cricket

modernfuturist
01-31-2012, 11:23 AM
I always had an affinity for touring bikes. When I was in college, long breaks and vacations and no job prospects allowed me to take weeks off and go touring. So naturally I built up a touring bike with a vintage aesthetic.

After I graduated, I started the whole 9-5 and found less time to realistically go on week long tours and such, but I still appreciated the vintage touring aesthetic, the upright position, etc. My friend told me about randonneuring and I was interested so I registered for a night time 200k. I had battery lights and a touring bike, but I saw other randonneuring setups and naturally I was hooked. I eventually sold my road bike to fund a randonneuring type build.

I really appreciate the integrated aspects of the bike, and the whole culture of randonneur rides. The people are very friendly and there is this positive attitude that is projected by everyone at the events.

Right now I've only tackled 200k's but I'm looking to try a 300k in the near future.

BCS
01-31-2012, 11:26 AM
Ok, I'll bite.

I enjoy the camaraderie and the required self-sufficiency that is necessary.

I am too slow to podium in any traditional races. With randonneuring I can get a medal for finishing :banana:

It is an excuse to buy additional bicycles/components

To paraphrase Randal "Tex" Cobb: It feels so good when it stops

I actually have a love/hate relationship with these types of events. More hate lately due to sleep deprivation, lack of training, family, job, Kid's sports etc.

fourflys
01-31-2012, 11:27 AM