PDA

View Full Version : Ottrott flex

jmchenry
02-16-2004, 05:58 PM
Hello, I have had my Ottrott for the last two years and have been happy with the bike except for the bottom bracket area flex. Anytime I put the hammer down or stand-up my front derailleur will rub against my chain rings. It this because of the DKS suspension? Im small person 5'7 and weight in at 165,so Im not a heavyweight and had the frame made for me. All of my other Serotta's that I have dont have any flex. Any Idea's?

Kevin
02-16-2004, 08:38 PM
I have an Ottrott ST. I have never noticed any flex. Unfortunately I have no experience with the DKS rear.

Kevin

BumbleBeeDave
02-16-2004, 08:40 PM
. . . not your frame. At least, that’s what Jason at the factory told me when we were talking about my old Vitus doing the same thing. I strongly doubt that your Ottrott frame would be flexing. That’s the whole point of the carbon tubes in there--so it WON’T flex laterally (torsionally).

BBDave

Ozz
02-17-2004, 08:20 AM
You might get your shop to check the position and alignment of your front derailleur.

Tom
02-17-2004, 08:22 AM
I guess that makes sense. I did deform a Shimano 105 (or whatever they put on the 105 group) 52 tooth ring on my old bike one day. All of a sudden I hear grind, grind, grind, and when I inspected it, one side was about one chain width bent out to the outside. Just like a potato chip. That thing was soft.

Russ
02-17-2004, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by jmchenry
Im small person 5'7 and weight in at 165,so Im not a heavyweight....

Hum.... That sounds a bit heavy for me.... But NOT to flex that frame!

SPOKE
02-17-2004, 07:29 PM