PDA

View Full Version : Compass 26" tires

fiamme red
01-10-2012, 11:46 AM
I'm thinking of getting a pair of Compass 26" x 1.75" tires for my MTB. Anyone here have any experience with them? Are they durable? Do the sidewalls hold up to rocky trails? They are pretty light, at 440 g.

Ken Robb
01-10-2012, 01:05 PM
I have no experience with them but for rocky trails I would want 2" or fatter tires so I could ride at about 35psi for traction without risking too many flats. My rocky trails usually also have deep gravel and sand so the fatter tires float through rather than dig in and steer with a mind of their own as skinny tires are wont to do.

vqdriver
01-10-2012, 01:14 PM
Yep
I went with lightweight 2.0 and recently swapped them out. Traction first.

fiamme red
01-10-2012, 01:35 PM
I have no experience with them but for rocky trails I would want 2" or fatter tires so I could ride at about 35psi for traction without risking too many flats. My rocky trails usually also have deep gravel and sand so the fatter tires float through rather than dig in and steer with a mind of their own as skinny tires are wont to do.So you would only use 1.75" tires for smooth trails and fire roads?

vqdriver
01-10-2012, 02:59 PM
mtb tires are really dependent on your local terrain and intended use. i don't know what the tread is like, but 1.75 is pretty narrow. even on fireroads, it won't track very well if it's rutted or if it's loose over hardpack. on rocky terrain it'll just get knocked around.

fiamme red
01-10-2012, 03:11 PM
Thanks for the advice. You can see that I'm an MTB newbie. :)

vqdriver
01-10-2012, 03:29 PM
no problem.
i went thru something similar the past couple years as i got back into mtbing. lots have changed, especially with regards to tread theory and tire sizing.