PDA

View Full Version : Spoke length round up or down

jgspin
12-27-2011, 12:59 AM
My wheel build calls for 285 mm spokes but they seem to only offer even number length spokes. Would 284 mm spokes be ok or 286 be better? Would 12 mm brass nipples be ok or should I opt for 14 mm? Thanks.

Also for a 20 hole front wheel is radial lacing ok or is 1x better? I'm 125 lbs +-. Thanks.

Louis
12-27-2011, 01:15 AM
I'm not a wheelbuilder, but I bet that they'll tell you to go longer rather than shorter.

Even though the first few threads take a large % of the load, it's still a good idea to have the spoke pulling as "high" up as possible in the nipple, where it transfers the load to the eyelet (or rim). If the spoke is too short that happens lower down on the nipple, which is not as desirable.

TimmyB
12-27-2011, 01:20 AM
Well, I have only built a handful of wheels, so I am no professional by any means.

That being said - I'd always go longer rather than shorter. Worst case scenario the spokes poke through the rim and you risk puncturing a tube. Taking a file to the spokes solves that (if there even is an issue).

That is a much better scenario than having spokes that are too short / do not adequately thread into the nipples.

In other words, if the spokes end up being (slightly) too long, it is pretty easy to take material away. On the contrary, it is basically impossible to add material.

Good luck!

benitosan1972
12-27-2011, 01:20 AM
Spoke length = longer is better than shorter
20-hole front wheel = radial is fine, esp since you're a lightweight

Louis
12-27-2011, 01:27 AM
In other words, if the spokes end up being (slightly) too long, it is pretty easy to take material away. On the contrary, it is basically impossible to add material.

Of course if the nipple bottoms out on a spoke that is way too long, then you're also screwed, but I doubt that happens very often. (I supposed you could extend the threads farther down the spoke, but you'd need the right tools.)