PDA

View Full Version : Rapha vs Road Holland vs Torm Jersey Compro

Steve in SLO
12-08-2011, 07:56 PM
After taking delivery of various Rapha, Torm and Road Holland jerseys, I thought it might be a nice to compare them in terms of fit and quality. As a disclaimer, I am not a professional in the clothing industry, nor am I receiving gazillions of dollars for this comparison. I will attempt to present objective facts. You can then subjectively thrash my findings at will.

Compared were size larges of the:
Rapha Country jersey (red)
Torm T1 jersey (grey)
And a Medium of the :
Road Holland Urtecht jersey (white)

Fabric:
All are made from Sportwool, and although the sites quote slightly different percentages of merino (39%-40%), and fabric weights, I could feel no appreciable difference in thickness while handling the jerseys. All appear to have been loomed similarly, and all had approximately the same elasticity in 3 directions. They have a similar sheen. Inside, nap felt the same with all three.

Construction:
All 3 were made using flat-felled stitching with an elastic stitch pattern. All had bar-tacking at stress points. The Rapha and Torm jerseys were stitched and bar-tacked in an almost identical manner, while the Road Holland was not bar-tacked in as many places.
The rear pocket detail was different in each, with the Torm appearing sturdiest: It had a double row of stitching at the bottom of the pocket, and at the top had a 3/4” band of fabric ribbon inside the jersey all the way across the back, which would seem to prevent pulling away of the jersey when the pocket s are filled, and looks like it would prevent tearing of the top of the pocket away from the jersey the best of the three. The Rapha and Road Holland, by comparison, had a ribbon strip spanning the bar-tacked area only.
Zippers were similar and of high quality. The Torm has 2 rear zippered pockets, while the Rapha and RH have one.