PDA

View Full Version : how to gain leg strength

KirkKaas
08-02-2005, 04:29 PM
I am looking for a resource or a workout program designed to increase leg strength. I have been riding for 8 years have manged to lose some weight and along the way to become a much better rider. I am 5'10 170 lbs. However, my power just does not seem to increase. I ride between 30 to 100 miles 4 times per week. Please let me know if you have any ideas. Thanks

Kirk

champlemon
08-02-2005, 04:58 PM
Squats... I gain 1-2 miles an hour just from doing squats. Another classic is doing intervals.

keno
08-02-2005, 05:15 PM
do one leg intervals in 53/12, trying to keep cadence about 50. If 53/12 is too strong, increase the 12 to the point where it is work, but doable, for 60 seconds, and build the time and drop the cog as you get stronger, doing multiple sets. Click out shoe on resting leg and rest on chair, trainer, whatever gets it out of the way. Push down hard and pull up hard and keep the cadence near 50.

keno

saab2000
08-02-2005, 05:33 PM
It sounds absurd and I myself struggle with my weight. But you may have an easier time losing 10 lbs than gaining power. Ideally, you can do both. But you will increase your strength/weight ratio just by losing weight.

I know that sounds like, "duh", but it is amazing how much difference just losing a few Lbs of fat will make.

Now if I would only listen to my own advice!!!

Climb01742
08-02-2005, 06:33 PM
intervals have worked well for me. perhaps two days a week try either high cadence or middle cadence intervals. 2x15min or 2x20min. high cadence is 95-100 rpms. middle cadence is 65-70 rpms.

Dekonick
08-02-2005, 08:10 PM
It sounds absurd and I myself struggle with my weight. But you may have an easier time losing 10 lbs than gaining power. Ideally, you can do both. But you will increase your strength/weight ratio just by losing weight.

I know that sounds like, "duh", but it is amazing how much difference just losing a few Lbs of fat will make.