PDA

View Full Version : OT: Getting sick way to often

itsflantastic
12-03-2011, 08:11 AM
Been thoroughly checked over by the doc and they say i'm all fine aside from this cold.
I am a preschool teacher so I'm always around germs. Any tricks to strengthen immune system?

indyrider
12-03-2011, 08:17 AM
I take a daily probiotic and drink :beer:

Wilkinson4
12-03-2011, 08:19 AM
I travel a bit for work, and sometimes it just happens but what I do to try and keep the rhino bug away is:

1. Wash hands often and keep them in my pockets so I don't touch my face or nose.

2. Use some purel. Or better yet, have each kid use it as they walk into your classroom unless there is some religous objection:D

3. Whenever I am around alot of people I will use the neti-pot to flush but if I was around germy kids daily I would probably do it daily.

4. Ditto for Zicam. I'll pop a throat losenge in if I think I was even close to a sick person.

5. Use Airbourne or equivlent.

There are other supplements you can use, but basically colds are transfered from hand to nose and that is where it tends to grow(s).

mIKE

rugbysecondrow
12-03-2011, 08:23 AM
I like the neti pot or the neti flush...both work well. I can't use the purel because it burns my skin.

I have a 5 and 2 year old and when we had our first child, I was sick all the time, much less so with the second.

Best of luck.

Fixed
12-03-2011, 08:43 AM
vodka i shot every hour
cheers :beer: :rolleyes:

itsflantastic
12-03-2011, 08:48 AM
Fixed - that'll make me sick..

Wilkinson4
12-03-2011, 08:55 AM
Vodka net-flush. That will kill it for sure.

mIKE

thwart
12-03-2011, 09:00 AM
Lots of good advice here.

Use lots of antimicrobial gel, use a neti pot daily, exercise as often as you can. And try to get at least 7-8 hrs of sleep.

If some munchkin coughs in your face, go to the bathroom and wash it off right away.