Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-05-2013, 12:37 PM
Ex-Mr.President

OT: The state of education

I need some help or maybe to vent. Tough week in the classroom dealing with things/issues that defy logic and responsibility of parents.

I am a school teacher who is losing his mind and more importantly his heart for education. I have only been at the job for 13 years and many people might agree that isn't very long, however

I teach in a great school district, we serve mostly middle class kids with a tow dipped in each end of the money pool...super poor and amazingly rich.

I however am losing my desire to try and break through the shell of today's apathetic children. Yes, I have students whom I am crazy about, would do almost anything they needed and know they will succeed, but after 13 years and around 1400 students I am at the point where caring for stupid problems, excuses from parents, and administrators is getting to me.

Sure, I have wonderfully funny stories about things kids say and do and could probably host a segment with Bill Cosby on the subject. I just find myself losing it when it comes to dishonesty and the changes that are being forced on teachers as we are treated like lab rats. "Hey do this brand new experimental teaching practice and become a master at it in a year." Only to be force fed something new the next year and then criticised when the "Test Scores" don't show what we need them to. Geeze we just had the former head of Indiana's dept of education found guilty of falsifying a charter school final grade as it was named after the guy who made the biggest contribution to his campaign. Education is trying to be run like a business and sold to the highest bidder. Only the very top are getting rich and the money stops there.

Ugh, rant over.
Old 09-05-2013, 12:46 PM

Did your school start using the common core exams? If not, just wait for the ···· to hit the fan.