Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-17-2012, 05:50 AM

CK R45 hub engagement problems?

I'm new to CK hubs and a quick Google search didn't turn up anything. But my fairly new (<2000 miles) R45 hub decided to freewheel on me yesterday. It started off very subtle, so much so that I thought it was a rear derailleur adjustment issue. Every time I started pedaling after coasting, there was a little hitch. Then after 20 miles I had to do a few complete rotations to get it to engage. If I kept pressure on the pedals it was fine but once I lost engagement . . . Not fun. Putting it in a stand where there's no resistance, you can just spin the cranks with no movement at the hubs.

Anyone have suggestions on where to start? I've downloaded the manuals but haven't dug into them too far yet.

Thanks,
Jim
Old 09-17-2012, 06:00 AM

Welcome to the club. It is a re-occurring problem for me. I bought my hubs in April last year and had the free wheel problem on 3 occasions. I'd just call CK and speak to them direct. They will tell you it is contaminated and to clean it and then service it more regularly. I can't make 3000 miles the hub before it free wheels. The funny thing is the hub has been sent back to CK twice for servicing and the problem still re-occurs. If you ride on dirt roads when it rains, you can just kiss your hub goodbye. I blew mine up on the Rapha Ride in New Hampshire this June.

I find these way less reliable than zipp, fulcrum and shimano. I am really disappointed.
Old 09-17-2012, 07:14 AM