Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-18-2024, 02:37 PM

SRAM Flattop Chain Link

I am new to the flattop chain party. Seems cool enough, but why can the quick link be reused?

Is it only afforded one snap into place?

I seem to remember using the Shimano quick links over again without issue.
Old 03-18-2024, 02:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat3roadracer View Post
I am new to the flattop chain party. Seems cool enough, but why can the quick link be reused?

Is it only afforded one snap into place?

I seem to remember using the Shimano quick links over again without issue.
Most chains claim the quick links are single use (Wipperman had a patent, maybe?). Most can be reused a couple of times without issue. Same is true with the AXS chains - I've reused the links with no issue, same as I used to do with Shimano chains.
Old 03-18-2024, 03:17 PM

Probably because A) they want you to buy more quick-links B) they don't want to be liable for a re-used quicklink if it was somehow damaged during removal
Old 03-18-2024, 03:26 PM

As someone who tested this with YBN quick links, after a certain amount of cycles, it became more difficult to snap the quick link back into place, and they developed some play. Still useable in a pinch, but not ideal.
Old 03-18-2024, 03:46 PM

I've reused the AXS links at least 6 times. As long as there's some snap to them, there shouldn't be a problem. I keep old ones if I'm experimenting with something that's likely to require repeated chain removals. Try not to use a link for more than the life of a chain. It's tricky if you have a dozen in use.

The wipperman link doesn't rely on an interference fit to keep it in place, so it can be removed as often as desired, but still not used for longer than the life of one chain.

Last edited by Dave; 03-18-2024 at 03:51 PM.
Old 03-18-2024, 04:52 PM
SageOfMilwaukee

I'm with Dave^^^^
Old 03-18-2024, 06:33 PM