Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-02-2023, 02:00 PM
kg

Rim brake pads for arc carbon track

I recently started riding Light Bicycle carbon wheels with the arc-cut brake track. They are tearing through my Swiss Stop Black Prince pads quickly. Despite the fast wear, are these still the best bet or is there another product people are liking?
Old 09-02-2023, 02:35 PM

I'm not sure what LightBicycle supplies with their wheels but I have had great success with them. My experience with black prince pad has been wonderful feel and power but quick wearing even on non-textured brake tracks. I have also had great luck with Shimanos carbon rim pads.
Old 09-02-2023, 04:01 PM

Following this thread. I’m running Black Prince pads on BTLOS rims with arc brake tracks. Great stopping power and modulation, but definitely wear quickly.

Greg
Old 05-09-2024, 12:10 PM

Did you find something that wore a bit better?

Any comment on how the braking is with the textured track vs rims without it?
Old 05-09-2024, 12:25 PM
kg

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridethecliche View Post
Did you find something that wore a bit better?

Any comment on how the braking is with the textured track vs rims without it?
I rode and raced rim brake non-textured carbon for years and was never satisfied with braking performance. The arc-textured brake track with direct-mount rim brakes have been a huge improvement. The modulation is a little funky with some grabbing under certain circumstances but I can abide.

Since this post, my outdoor riding diminished for a variety of reasons. As a result, I haven’t run through the Black Prince pads yet. Although I haven’t tried the Yellow King on these, I used to tear through those even faster (I think) without the textured track. I took note in the other thread of someone’s endorsement of the Campy Red and might try those next.
Old 05-09-2024, 12:32 PM