Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 02-21-2022, 10:51 AM

Review / Critique my frame design

I am looking into ordering a custom steel frame.
Being that I am an engineer and DIYer I decided it would be a good idea to learn more about frame design and it turned out that I did.
Since I probably will not be going local I will not have the opportunity for an in person fitting and I did want to just give the builder some vague descriptions like its comfortable or climbs good. I will handing this off to the builder to tweak as they see fit. Here are some of the rational for the dimensions.

Top tube - I am 5'8" and have short legs and arms. I normally ride a 52cm frame which provides low enough stand over. Since I like my bars about level with my saddle I decided a sloping top tube makes sense to get the bars higher using a 135mm head tube and still have a low enough stand over. Also it allows for more seatpost sticking out of the frame. I made the reach the same as my current Cannondale EVO which works for me.

Steering - Had to learn about trail and wheel flop. In the end just decided to go with standard trail of 58mm for a road bike. This resulted in a 71 degree head tube angle and 54mm fork rake.

Chain stays - I have always felt the chain stays and wheelbase on my Cannondale are very short. I went with 415mm on the stays and 1007mm wheelbase. I feel this will give me good stability and balance without overdoing it.

Bottom bracket drop - This is one of those overlooked things. I went with 75mm to get the bottom bracket lower. This helps with stand over and I just like a bike with lower center of gravity.

Some of the ideas came from looking at the geometry of a Cannondale Synapse which seems to have some of the characteristics that I am looking for. If I could find one local in my size that I could test ride I would do it. My wife has one but it is one size too small for me.